Transitions – to know and not know – bi-location and astral travel

“I learned from my dog long before I went to Gombe that we weren’t the only beings with personalities. What the chimps did was help me to persuade others.”Jane Goodall

Windows, doors, entries, exits, and practice runs…

A quick note. I sometimes hesitate to share some of my PSI experiences. There is a struggle with personal sharing because my individual experiences are important to me. I value what I learn from them. They keep the mystery alive. However, I realize they may not resonate for all. I reason that they will resonate for some. And that is worth sharing.

Some of what I do is very public, rote, and therefore, socially acceptable. Doesn’t make waves. I get to be ‘normal’ in some circles – and while that activity has held my interest and given me some unique [and fun] opportunities, it is the window dressing and the very least of my life experience.

Much of what I encounter in my day to day living is not considered ‘normal’… fortunately, I am aware that ‘normal’ is a relative label. A society that deems paranormal, metaphysical, spiritual experiences as odd, abnormal, deviant, and/or special is simply overlooking, negating, or unaware of a very important and innate aspect of human abilities: PSI.

It is what it is. I am sharing that which I want to be included among the accounts of others who are adding to the database of PSI normal as we continue to explore, refine and evolve our awareness.

There have been so many recent anomalous events that I had to step back for a bit and narrow the focus to determine what might be most helpful to share. This event stands out because it is top of mind and triggering my emotions. It requires that I come to terms with an inevitable eventuality sooner than I would like.

It’s about Jack.

Jack Dancer _the romancer

Jack is now an elder Papillon.

Known to be “Intelligent, Friendly, Energetic, Happy, Alert.” In Jack’s case friendly was not in the cards, with a Grandma exception. Jack is/was a curmudgeon from day one.

Belatedly, we discovered he is an ankle biter if you happen to wear boots. [Sorry!] On a stroll: Look but DON’T touch. We run interference for the adoring children who spy him in his stroller/chauffeured carriage and flock to him like a magnet. Redirecting pets to the ever so happy to oblige GSD, Cassie, offering apologies for our grumpy old man. A calling card he relishes. Never has Jack been a dog who wanted cuddles, although I do get an occasional moment.

The shift.

Until recent weeks, he has slept beside me – between his people. Gradually, the transition is underway. There had been a prior reset of several months when Gracie died a few years ago but he stopped grieving when her puppy double, Cassie, arrived and he focused on living again.

Typical little sister, she walks all over him, steals his treats and badgers him for no apparent reason. Our payback: stereo barking.

Gracie was the hook. Puppy Jack made great overtures we interpreted as his desire to be with my mom. As it turned out, that grand display was intended to ensure rapid delivery from the adoption roulette.

Jack and Gracie playing ‘run and chase’

Grandma got ghosted when Jack met Gracie.

He refused to even look in her direction on the off chance she would take him away if their eyes met. No cajoling, whisperings of sweet nothings or seductive pets would work. A clear case of amnesia for his liberator.

It became embarrassingly apparent, he had his own path charted. Contact with Grandma was okay once the residential arrangements were settled. Subsequently, he makes a big deal whenever she visits and flirts when we visit her house [surreptitiously cleaning any cat bowls that have not been cleared].

He is where he needs to be and has been my trusty barometer for things paranormal and unexplained [Ghosts, UFOs, etc.]. I could go on but I will get to the point.

Jack is a firecracker baby. He turns 14 on July 4th. And he is showing his age. He has enjoyed riding part-time in a stroller on our walks for a few years – initially, to help keep his allergies in check, and then to continue joining us on longer walks with Gracie, and now Cassie.

As an elder pet [the average Papillon lifespan is 14 to 16 years], his eyesight and hearing are diminished. He sleeps so soundly that I can walk around him or sneak out of the room without waking him up. That is a recent development.

He now asks and sometimes demands help getting off the bed. Bonus is when he insists on getting help and then scolds us for complying in an effort to preserve his dignity. And that is our privilege – to accept the scolding and ensure he has a gentle landing.

I’ve been down this road many times, and while it never gets easier, I have learned to mark the signs. Each of my pets has, in his/her own way tried to alert me and ease the transition. Favorite toys, pastimes, and daily rituals shift.

Jack has added a new twist to his upcoming departure – not to imply it is imminent – rather that is my acceptance of it being eventual.

While other pets have appeared to give me departure hints in dreams or telepathic hints, Jack recently gave me a premonitory gift in broad daylight.

The scene. Cassie hangs out in the room while I meditate. Jack may or may not roam. Suffice it to say something felt different on this day. Still meditating, I sensed something and opened my eyes to see Jack jump off the end of the bed. Surprised, I thought it odd that I had not heard or felt his arrival on the bed but I was happy he had been there to join me because he doesn’t do that as much any more.

I wondered if maybe I had fallen asleep at some point. Still alert. I noticed I didn’t hear him getting a drink or see him leave the room. How could that be?

This is a case of information overload and not knowing just how many signals the mind is getting when the material dots are not connecting.

The sense that something is off became stronger. I jumped up to see if he was still on the floor beside the bed or somewhere in the room. Cassie looked at me quizzically. Truly curious circumstances. His action wasn’t tracking. I hurried to check another water bowl, the cat food bowl behind a barrier in the bathroom. No Jack.

Seconds later, small house, I found him, sound asleep in the patio room. He had not been in the bedroom.

Because I was meditating – in between – I was able to see Jack in his OBE state. Jack is practicing his exits and entries.

There are other clues Jack has been active on the astral plane. Over the past year or two, Andy and I have each had instances of hearing Jack’s bark from other parts of the house – then, auto-pilot – gone to investigate – only to return and discover him, physically present and asleep with us in the same room.

This recent event made me sad because of how it felt. When I saw Jack jump off the bed it was so vivid. He looked real. What wasn’t real and what made me question the visual – was a thing my mind registered as I tried to physically reconcile what I had seen. Empty space.

I thought I felt the bed move slightly – maybe I did – maybe I didn’t. What I didn’t sense or feel was the sound of Jack landing on the floor. And when I thought back on the scene, it stood out that as soon as he left the bed, I lost the visual. I realized I didn’t actually see him jump to the chest at the end of the bed and I should have. He also didn’t ask for an assist. Most of the time he does. The other thing that registered is that feeling of emptiness – very similar to what I sensed with the full moon entity at the lake house. Something is there and then it is gone.

It made me think about how I would feel with Jack’s visits from the afterlife. The sensation of presence would be there but the life force energy would be missing. Am I ready for that? No.

This is about knowing and not knowing. He will be leaving – as we all do at some point. I don’t know when – and I really don’t want to know. What I am doing more of now is trying to anticipate his needs and making him more comfortable. He pushes back with that – because – after all – he is still Jack.

I love him and I can’t keep him from going on his path. It is just so hard to let go when it is happening. Indeed, I have learned a thing or two over the decades. It took that long. I do things now that I had not thought to do when I was younger [for my other animal companions].

I try not to take the moments for granted. Distractions are our bane. I honor and respect that we are being schooled from our animal kin and here to learn from them – not the other way around. I have room for improvement. I am still learning.

Jack crashed on the couch at the lake house.

Final note. Prior to adopting Jack, I said I did not want a small, yappy dog. I said, all they do is bark and pee on everything. Some do. Jack soon had surgery, twice – for an issue that then required – for life – a special diet that triggers frequent urination… Most of the time he is able to ask out. He gets a pass on that. Medical.

He barks when he goes outside to announce his presence to the neighborhood {and the owls} and to ensure that he will soon be joined by his posse… Cassie and Andy or me. And he randomly barks, sometimes for unexpected guests, most often at the squirrels on the birdfeeder.

Again, he gets a pass. Squirrels on the bird feeder are known to be greedy. Jack’s revenge, no doubt for my earlier bias? Cassie [big dog] has taken her cue from him and leveled up. She barks for squirrels, planes, thunder, any barking dog on the block, and intruders… a work in progress on that.

So the joke is on me – Each and every thing I did not want in a small dog I will miss when Jack is not around – because, without all of those little quirks which we have adjusted to and made exceptions for, I would not have had his joy, his enthusiasm, his intelligence, his delightful companionship, and his alerting me to the UFO in the bedroom.

I am so glad he made me change my mind and overlook the ‘faults’ [as he, I hope, has overlooked mine].

Cassie is likes to run – Jack follows with his toy. She runs and they play.

Good companions come in all shapes, sizes, colors, breeds, species. They show up for those who have the most to learn from the arrangement. That can be a challenge to accept. It isn’t always pretty.

Jack had Grandma pegged. She held no bias. Her love for him from the beginning was, and is unconditional. I was the pebble he drew. Jack is another one of my amazing teachers showing me there is still time for more learning in this new chapter. What an amazing present he shared – the gift of seeing him in his astral form.

Now I know Jack is flapping his astral winds and keeping tabs on me when I meditate, maybe I will travel with him as some of my other pets have traveled with me.

Anything is possible.

Jack’s work was to undo my bias. Like Max and Gracie, he alerted me to paranormal aspects I would not have grasped without their assistance. And they were the absolute best dogs for me to love and learn from. Max had my number from day one. I’ll save the cat and turtle stories for another time.

Gracie has an orb on her forehead. With Chloe, Maggie and Rowdy.

“Be related to everything. Relationship means care; care means attention; attention means love. That is why relationship is the basis of everything. If you miss that, you miss the whole thing.” – Krishnamurti, Source.

2 thoughts on “Transitions – to know and not know – bi-location and astral travel

  1. Beautifully written. Yes I love little Jack. I see him as he is. His age doesn’t change who he is. Each of the pets who live at your home are real to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.